Home - Crew - Roll of Honour

Roll Of Honour

Tarpon (N17)

1935 - 1970: T Class

HMS Tarpon left Portsmouth for Rosyth on 5th April 1940. She was diverted to patrol around Norway on 6th April 1940. Around 0600 hours on 10th April 1940 by the Tarpon encountered the German 'Q-ship' Schiff 40 (Schürbek) west of Jutland, Denmark in approximate position 56º43'N, 06º33'5"E. Tarpon attacked the German vessel with two torpedoes both of which missed. It is assumed that Tarpon was sunk with all hands by depth charges in a counter-attack by Schiff 40. Tarpon was reported overdue on 22nd April 1940. Tarpon was probably the first British submarine to be lost to depth charges in WW2.

Look up Tarpon (N17) in the Boat Database

Roll of Honour

Name Rank Number Hons Age
Alexander, Arthur George  Able Seaman  P/J 93213    37
Allison, Francis  Stoker 1st Class  C/KX 83188    24
Andrew, Walter  Engine Room Artificer 3rd Class  D/MX 51926    26
Banfield, Edgar  Chief Petty Officer  D/J 77988    37
Barrett, George James  Leading Stoker  C/KX 80350    28
Beaumont, Alan Arthur  Able Seaman  P/JX 142308    21
Brewer, Alfred Cornelius  Telegraphist  P/J 109329    32
Cadby, Cyril George  Leading Signalman  D/JX 139976    22
Caldwell, Herbert James  Lieutenant Commander      34
Commanding Officer
Cavaye, James  Petty Officer Cook  P/M 38605    34
Chadwick, George James  Telegraphist  P/JX 135579    24
Chilton, Stanley  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 86850    23
Collins, Leslie Alban  Chief Petty Officer  C/J 103082    34
Davidson, James Kennedy  Able Seaman  P/SSX 14483    24
Davies, Thomas Eirwyn  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 84743    24
Davies, Thomas Walter  Stoker 1st Class  C/KX 80223    30
Ede, William James Ewart  Petty Officer Telegraphist  P/J 114117    30
Endersby, Sidney Claude  Petty Officer  P/J 113098    30
Etheridge, George Davis  Chief Engine Room Artificer 1st Class  P/M 34444    36
Ferguson, John  Able Seaman  D/JX 164945    41
Fleming, William Henry  Petty Officer  C/JX 128503    28
Gathergood, Joseph Albert  Leading Stoker  C/KX 98416    43
Globe, Sydney  Stoker 1st Class  C/K 65252    35
Goodall, Thomas  Able Seaman  C/JX 138369    23
Gregory, Albert Edward  Petty Officer  C/JX 126436    29
Hammersley, Arthur Frank Cullimore  Engine Room Artificer 2nd Class  D/MX 46764    32
Harrison, Thomas Carty  Able Seaman  D/J 107568    32
Hart, George Albert  Able Seaman  C/J 113010    32
Harvey, Leslie James  Leading Telegraphist  D/JX 136108    24
Hills, Arthur Alfred  Able Seaman  D/J 108275    33
Hoggett, Harry John Rosce  Chief Engine Room Artificer  P/M 27357    38
Holliday, William  Leading Steward  C/LX 21265    28
Hubbard, Frank Philip David  Able Seaman  P/J 45401    39
Jope, William Birtwhistle  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 91430    20
Kellond, Reginald  Engine Room Artificer 3rd Class  D/M 38362    31
Kettle, Lawrence Henry  Lieutenant      26
Leonard, William  Leading Stoker  C/KX 83072    25
Luff, Ronald  Stoker 1st Class  P/KX 83269    29
Paterson, James George Wallace  Chief Engine Room Artificer  P/M 39375    30
Perkins, Leslie William  Leading Telegraphist  C/JX 131917    28
Raggett, Archibald Fred  Chief Stoker  P/K 57325    39
Sherry, Rodney William  Warrant Engineer      40
Smith, John  Leading Seaman  C/J 105724    33
Snell, Stanley Raymond  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 89519    24
Spurden, Ernest George Victor  Leading Seaman  C/J 127480    30
Tatlock, James  Able Seaman  C/SSX 16071    23
Templeton, George Edward  Stoker 1st Class  D/K 64242    34
Thomas, William Ninian Crichton  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 86588    23
Trott, Philip Michael John  Stoker 1st Class  D/KX 81624    26
Walker, Roderic John  Leading Stoker  C/KX 83031    25
Walsh, Harold  Stoker Petty Officer  P/KX 76676    34
Weatherall, Hugh Derek Andre  Sub Lieutenant      21
Wren, Charles Bate Limpright  Lieutenant Commander (RNR)      31

Commonwealth War Graves Commission

A Tribute To Submariners

I have often looked for an opportunity of paying tribute to our submariners.

There is no branch of His Majesty's Forces which in this war has suffered the same proportion of total loss as our submarine service.

It is the most dangerous of all services.

That is perhaps the reason why the First Lord tells me that the entry into it is keenly sought by Officers and Men.

I feel sure the House would wish to testify its gratitude and admiration to our Submariners for their Skill - Courage and Devotion which has proved of inestimable value to the sustenance of our country.

Winston Churchill

We Will Remember Them

Biographies & MemoirsVC Winners